First-Time OUI Defense Lawyer in Brockton
OUI Attorney in Plymouth, Brockton & Hingham – Call (617) 231-7107
In the state of Massachusetts, the criminal act of driving while under
the influence of alcohol or drugs is officially charged as
operating under the Influence (OUI). OUI charges are serious matters even for first offenses, carrying consequences
such as expensive fines and a lengthy driver’s license suspension
upon conviction. In addition, a criminal conviction can have a lasting
impact on a person’s reputation and future, often times hindering
their ability to find suitable employment or housing. For this reason,
it is vital that accused individuals retain the services of a powerful
criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to protect their freedom
At South Shore Criminal Defense, our aggressive OUI defense attorneys have
fought to defend the rights of accused clients throughout Brockton and
Hingham for years. Having successfully handled thousands of cases throughout
our firm’ lengthy practice, our team of former prosecutors can provide
the aggressive representation you need to minimize your chances of conviction.
The sooner you get in touch with us, the sooner we can help. Schedule your complimentary consultation
today to get started towards retaining the defense you need.
Penalties for a First-Offense OUI in Massachusetts
While many people believe that a person can only be convicted of OUI if
they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, the
prosecution only needs to show that you had enough alcohol in your system
to make you unfit to drive in order to secure a conviction. Like most
OUI convictions, penalties for a first offense OUI will increase if a
child was in the vehicle at the time of arrest, if the defendant refused
a chemical test, or if the accused registered a BAC that was well in excess
of the legal limit.
Administrative and criminal penalties for a first-time can OUI include:
- Driver’s license suspension of up to 1 year
- Possible ignition interlock device installation
- Up to two and a half years of house arrest
- Up to $5,000 in fines
Under certain circumstances, individuals charged with first-offense OUI
may be able to pursue alternative disposition which can greatly reduce
their sentence. Our team of advocates can help you evaluate your legal
options during a consultation and determine the most appropriate course
of action to pursue.
You Do Not Have to Plead Guilty
In many cases, a first-time OUI offense is a person’s first and only
run in with the law. At South Shore Criminal Defense, we understand that
good people can sometimes find themselves in difficult situations, and
we are committed to ensuring no stone is left unturned in the defense
of your freedom. We truly believe you are innocent until proven guilty,
and we are prepared to go the distance to ensure you are treated with
the respect and dignity you deserve. Do not make the mistake of leaving
your case in the hands of a less-experienced and overworked public defender.
Let us use our knowledge and skills to help you gain much-needed peace
of mind during this frightening time.
Send us an email online
today to discover your defense options.